With Gavin Bryars at Big Ears

Thrilled to perform with the Gavin Bryars Ensemble at the Big Ears Festival. The performances included Jesus Blood (never failed me yet) and The Sinking of the Titanic.

More about the works here:


Bryars’ inspiration for the work came from a report that the wireless operator Harold Bride on the Titanic had witnessed the house band continue to perform as the ship sank. In April 1912, Bride had told the New York Times: “The band was still playing. I guess all of the band went down. They were playing “Autumn” then. I swam with all my might. I suppose I was 150 feet away when the Titanic on her nose, with her after-quartet sticking straight up in the air, began to settle – slowly….the way the band kept playing was a noble thing…..and the last I saw of the band, when I was floating out in the sea with my lifebelt on, it was still on deck playing “Autumn”. How they ever did it I cannot imagine. That, and the way Phillips (the senior wireless operator) kept sending after the Captain told him his life was his own, and to look out for himself, are two things that stand out in my mind over all the rest..”
Bryars imagined that the sound would continue to reverberate as it disappeared under the waves. Writing in 1993, Bryars said “the music goes through a number of different states, reflecting an implied slow descent to the ocean bed which give a range of echo and deflection phenomena, allied to considerable high frequency reduction”.

Nunca tan lejos in Europe

Percussionist extraordinaire Roberto Oliveira will present my piece “Nunca tan lejos” for prepared vibraphone, electronics and video in a variety of locations in Europe, including the “Art Forum Contemporary Art Exhibition 2017” in Letonia on August 5th.

The full schedule of performances includes March 11th, May 5th and 6th and July 21st in Galicia, Spain.



Master class and performance with the UTEE at Appalachian State

The EE is again on the road on 2-17! The ensemble will present a show of chamber improvised music with electronic media at Appalachian State University.

UT Electroacoustic Ensemble

Mark Drake – voice, electronics
Alex Gray – EWI, saxophone, computer
Brandan Harden – synthesizer
Tyler Hyers – keyboard
Clayton Hopkins – percussion
Elise Stephens – video
Jorge Variego – computer
Harry Ward – keyboard

Dr. Jorge Variego – founder director



    Jorge Variego – clarinet


    Elise Stephens – live visuals
    Alex Gray – EWI, saxophone, computer


    Mark Drake – voice, electronics
    Clayton Hopkins – percussion
    Harry Ward – keyboard

February 2017

    UT Electroacoustic Ensemble


At the SCI National conference in April

I will be presenting a new piece at the SCI National Conference at Western Michigan University in Kalamazoo in April.

SCI 2017 National Conference
at Western Michigan University
March 30 – April 1, 2017

Western Michigan University’s School of Music is thrilled to announce that we will host the SCI National Conference in 2017. This year’s featured guest ensembles include Ensemble Dal Niente, Spektral Quartet, SPLICE Ensemble, Coalescence Percussion Duo, and Duo Furioso. 

Screen Shot 2017-01-13 at 9.13.52 AM


UT Contemporary Music Festival


Festival Schedule:

Masterclass with Yarn/Wire

All students and faculty welcome!

Thursday, 10/20/2016 at 12:40pm

Sandra G. Powell Recital Hall, Natalie L. Haslam Music Center

UT Contemporary Music Festival Opening Concert

UT Contemporary Music Ensemble presents works by Berio, Zorn, Simalchik, and Applebaum

Thursday, 10/20/2016 at 8:00 PM

Sandra G. Powell Recital Hall, Natalie L. Haslam Music Center

UT Contemporary Music Festival Gala Concert

Guest artist recital; featuring artist-in-residence Yarn/Wire and UT Contemporary Music Festival Call for Scores winner Travis Weller

Friday, 10/21/2016 at 8:00 PM

Sandra G. Powell Recital Hall, Natalie L. Haslam Music Center

UT Contemporary Music Festival Concert

Ensemble concert; featuring the UT Electroacoustic Ensemble and the UT Contemporary Music Ensemble

Saturday, 10/22/2016 at 2:00 PM

Emporium Arts Center

100 South Gay Street

Knoxville, TN